GENDER AND DEVELOPMENT STUDIES
PATHFINDER
This pathfinder is intended to help users locate sources of information in the area of Gender and Development Studies. The interdisciplinary nature of this area of study offers challenges to the beginning researcher. This guide will introduce some helpful resources to get you started.
REFERENCE WORKS
Biographical Works
Gender studies,
Library, The University of West Indies, Mona
Directories
RESOURCES
AND LINKS
Resource directory for gender related topics.
E RESOURCES
Databases
Issues of gender and citizenship, however, are not
limited to legal issues..... of subject positions defined by gender,
ethnicity, race, class and religion.
Academic Search Complete (via
Ebsco)
Provides indexing and abstracting
for more than 9,500 journals, with full-text coverage for more than 5,500
titles. Covers a wide range of areas of academic study from the sciences to the
arts.
Web of Science via Web of
Knowledge
A citation indexing database covering more than 8500 peer-reviewed journals in science (also includes arts & humanities and social sciences).
Electronic Forums & Blogs
Blogs
Women's and Gender Studies Blog
http://feminism-gender.blogspot.com/2008/02/bell-hooks.html
Feminist Theory and Gender Studies
http://ftgss.blogspot.com/2005/04/welcome-to-ftgss-blog.html
A blog to facilitate the
communication of the Feminist Theory and Gender Studies Section (FTGSS) of the
International Studies Association (ISA) concerning their research, activities,
conferences, and thoughts.
E Journals
Advancing Women in Leadership Online Journal
Advancing Women in Leadership
represents the first on-line professional, refereed journal for women in
leadership.
http://www.advancingwomen.com/awl/awl.html
AFFILIA: Journal of Women and Social Work is the only
scholarly social work journal to address the concerns of social workers
and their clients from a feminist point of view.
Full Text Coverage: 1999 – Present
Journal published by department for Gender Studies.
http://sta.uwi.edu/crgs/currentissue.asp
Feminist
Feminist
http://www.feministafrica.org/
Feminist Economics is a peer-reviewed journal that provides an open
forum for dialogue and debate about feminist economic perspectives.
Full Text Coverage: 2000 - Present
Gender Forum
Gender forum is an electronic journal dedicated to the discussion of women's and gender studies.
http://www.genderforum.uni-koeln.de/
Gender &
Society gives access to the latest theory on the social and structural
implications of gender through a multidisciplinary approach.
Full Text Coverage: 1999 – present
Gender and Development
http://www.swetswise.com/titleBank/getAtoZList.do?title=82866
The journal focuses specifically on international gender and development issues, and explores the connections between gender and development initiatives, and feminist perspectives.
Gender and History
http://www.swetswise.com/titleBank/getAtoZList.do?title=82868
This is an international journal for research and writing on the history of femininity and masculinity and of gender relations.
Genders
A peer-reviewed academic journal publishing essays about gender and sexuality in relation to social, political, artistic, and economic concerns.
Intersections:
Gender, History and Culture in the Asian Context
http://intersections.anu.edu.au/
Intersections electronic journal emphasises the
paramount importance of research into the multiple historical and cultural,
gender and sexuality patterns in
JENDA
A journal of culture and African women studies.
http://www.jendajournal.com/index.htm
Journal of
International Women’s Studies
The Journal of International Women’s Studies is an on-line, open-access, peer reviewed journal that provides a forum for the exploration of the relationship between feminist theory and various forms of organizing.
http://www.bridgew.edu/soas/jiws/
Men and Masculinities presents peer-reviewed empirical and theoretical
scholarship grounded in the most current theoretical perspectives within gender
studies, including feminism, queer theory and multiculturalism.
Full Text Coverage: 1999 – present
The Scholar and
Feminist
A forum for scholars, activists, and artists whose work articulates the ever-evolving role of feminism in struggles for social justice.
http://www.barnard.columbia.edu/sfonline/
Thirdspace
is a peer-reviewed journal, offering work in English and French, that aims to presents the best in scholarship on feminist theory and culture.
http://www.thirdspace.ca/journal/index
Gender-Related Electronic Forums
http://userpages.umbc.edu/~korenman/wmst/forums.html
Is an annotated, frequently-updated, award-winning
listing of publicly-accessible e-mail discussion forums (also known as
"lists" or "listservs") related to women or to
women-focused gender issues?
Electronic Forums of
Interest to Women
http://www.ibiblio.org/cheryb/women/elec-forum.html
An annotated collection of over
200 women's issues and gender studies email lists. As well as academic subjects
topics include religion and spirituality lists, health lists, motherhood lists,
and women’s studies lists.
GENDER AND DEVELOPMENT IN DEVELOPING
COUNTRIES
African Centre for
Gender and Development
A division of the United Nations Economic Commission for
http://www.uneca.org/fr/acgd/en/1024x768/acgd.htm
CAFRA
CAFRA is a regional network of feminists,
individual researchers, activists and women’s organisations that define
feminist politics as a matter of both consciousness and action. We are
committed to understanding the relationship between the oppression of women and
other forms of oppression in the society, and we are working actively for
change.
Gender,
Culture and
by Johnetta Cole
http://lic.law.ufl.edu/~hernandez/Women/cole.pdf
Some ideas about gender,
culture and Caribbean development are proposed ... how development in
the
Gender and
Development
Women won’t wait
http://topics.developmentgateway.org/gender/index.do
It is an international coalition of organizations and networks working to promote women’s health and human rights in the struggle to address HIV and AIDS and end all forms of violence against women and girls.
GENDER
AND DEVELOPMENT IN
A
STORY OF GROWING PROSPERITY BUT INCREASING INEQUALITIES
October
26 and 27, 2000
The Gender Workshop for the Latin American and Caribbean
(LAC) region held in
Gender and HIV/AIDS
UNIFEM, in collaboration with UNAIDS, has developed this comprehensive gender and HIV/AIDS web portal to provide up-to-date information on the gender dimensions of the HIV/AIDS epidemic.
Gender Mainstreaming
Gender Equality +
UNESCO’s experience in promoting gender equality
http://portal.unesco.org/en/ev.php-URL_ID=3160&URL_DO=DO_TOPIC&URL_SECTION=201.html
Seguino, Stephanie (2003): Why are women in the
http://mpra.ub.uni-muenchen.de/6507/
This paper uses aggregate data to explore macroeconomic factors that contribute to gender differentials in unemployment.
THEORETICAL PERSPECTIVES ON GENDER AND DEVELOPMENT
Edited by Jane L. Parpart, M. Patricia Connelly, and V. Eudine Barriteau
http://www.idrc.ca/en/ev-9419-201-1-DO_TOPIC.html
It explores the evolution of gender
and development theory.
United Nations
Development Programme
Women’s Empowerment
The focus is UNDP’s work to ensure equality of opportunity.
Women Watch
Women Watch is the central gateway to information and resources on the promotion of gender equality and the empowerment of women throughout the United Nations system.
The World Bank.
Gender and Development
This is a World Bank site and its’ main aim is to address a broad range of gender issues across the continents.
Gender in Caribbean
Development: Papers Presented at the Inaugural Seminar Gender in Caribbean
Development: Papers Presented at the Inaugural Seminar of the University
of the
Women - CARINDEX
search results
MEN AND MASCULINITIES
http://www.cafra.org/article354.html
The article deals with the dominance of females and the marginalisation of the male in modern society.
Men and Masculinities Results from UWI Main Library
Catalogue
Unsettling
Masculinity in the Caribbean: Facing a Future without Guarantees by
Working paper based on a lecture delivered by Dr. Lewis on Nov. 14, 2003 in a lecture series sponsored by Caribbean Women Catalysts for Change.
http://www.econ.utah.edu/genmac/WP/06-9.pdf
Fathers' Rights & Equality Exchange
Violence
and Society
This site is about men who are fighting to end battering, rape and sexisms in
our societies.
Published in the Journal of
Interdisciplinary Gender Studies 1(2) September ... Society for
the Psychological Study of Men and Masculinity.
THEORY, GENDER AND IDENTITY
Feminist Theory: and Overview
Traces the historical development of feminist theory.
http://www.victorianweb.org/gender/femtheory.html
FEMINIST THEORY
WEBSITE
The Feminist Theory Website provides research materials and
information for students, activists, and scholars interested in women's conditions
and struggles around the world.
http://www.cddc.vt.edu/feminism/enin.html
The Hetrosexual
Imaginary: Feminist sociology and theories of gender by Chrys Ingraham
This essay argues that the material conditions of patriarchical societies are more integrally linked to institutionalized heterosexuality than they are to gender.
http://www.jstor.org/sici?sici=0735-2751(199407)12%3A2%3C203%3ATHIFSA%3E2.0.CO%3B2-B
The Past, the Present
and the Future of an Identity Theory by Sheldon Stryker
The paper focuses on how social structures influences identity.
http://wat2146.ucr.edu/papers/00c.pdf
SIGNS
Articles on gender and feminist theory.
http://www.jstor.org/action/doBasicSearch?Query=Feminist+Theory&jc=j100509
Women's and Gender Studies research, and outreach on women's and gender
issues in
Women and Gender Databases at the C.W. Post
Library guide covering women
writers across the English-speaking world (including
WOMEN AND GENDER IN THE HISTORY OF THE
ENGLISH SPEAKING
CENTRE FOR GENDER
AND DEVELOPMENT STUDIES: NITA BARROW UNIT
http://gender.uwichill.edu.bb/
The Centre for Gender and Development
Studies: Nita Barrow Unit, CGDS is a dynamic unit within the University of the
West Indies (UWI) Cave Hill engaged in a programme of teaching, research and
outreach on women and gender issues in
Centre
for Gender and Development Studies Mona Campus Unit
Gender issues relevant to the region.
Gender Studies (
Comprehensive site containing gender issues relevant to the region.
Women
in the
Women’s Studies
Resources: Feminist Theory
A compilation of various works on feminist theory.
http://bailiwick.lib.uiowa.edu/WStudies/theory.html
WSSLINKS
Women and Gender Studies Web Sites
The purpose of WSSLINKS is to provide access to a wide range of resources in support of Women's Studies.
http://libr.org/wss/wsslinks/index.html
Welcome to the Latin America and